Best Google Review Software for Small Businesses: An Honest 2026 Comparison
Compare Rateo, Birdeye, Podium, NiceJob, and Trustmary on verified pricing, Google review coverage, AI replies, and fit for small businesses.
Quick verdict
- Choose Rateo when you run a small local business—such as a restaurant, salon, barbershop, café, independent retailer, or service business—and want a focused Google workflow: customers choose whether to use a QR code or shareable link, and AI replies publish automatically after a randomized 2–8-hour delay.
- Consider Birdeye when you need a broader reputation and customer-experience platform. Its Review Response Agent can publish automatically or wait for approval; public pricing and plan-specific availability are not disclosed.
- Consider Podium when review management needs to sit alongside lead conversion, messaging, and payments. Its pricing page lists Core at $399/month and Pro at $599/month; automatic AI review responses are shown as an add-on.
- Consider NiceJob when review requests, referrals, social proof, and field-service integrations are useful together. AI Replies are on Pro and can be configured for automatic posting or approval.
- Consider Trustmary when your main goal is collecting and displaying customer feedback and testimonials. It publishes a free Solo plan and paid pricing, but its pages checked do not establish automatic Google review replies.
Rateo publishes this comparison and has a commercial interest in the result. We checked the linked official product and pricing pages on October 9, 2026. Where a plan limit, annual term, or publishing mode was not clear on an official page, we say so instead of estimating it.
Comparison table
Scroll horizontally to compare all products →
| Criteria | Rateo | Birdeye | Podium | NiceJob | Trustmary |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $129/year per location ($10.75/month billed annually). Monthly option: $12/month per location. | Not publicly listed; request a quote | $399/month Core; $599/month Pro (USD) | $75/month Reviews; $125/month Pro (AI Replies) | Free Solo; AI Visibility is $229/month or $191/month billed annually; not per location |
| Annual cost, one location | $129 annual plan per location, or $144 across 12 monthly payments | Not published | Annual total is not published; 12 monthly payments equal $4,788 Core or $7,188 Pro | $900 Reviews or $1,500 Pro across 12 monthly payments; no-contract monthly plans | Not per location: $2,292 prepaid at $191/month or $2,748 across 12 monthly payments at $229/month; free Solo plan |
| Free trial | 14 days for the first eligible location | Not stated on the official pricing page | Not stated on the official pricing page | 14 days; no contract | Free Solo plan |
| Contract | Monthly or annual billing; cancel anytime | Terms not publicly stated | Terms not publicly stated | No contracts | Monthly and annual billing options; contract terms not stated |
| Setup | Self-serve Google Business Profile connection; setup time varies | Quote/demo flow; onboarding terms not listed with public pricing | Sales/demo flow; the pricing page lists a $500 per-location network optimization fee | Self-serve signup and 14-day trial | Free Solo plan; paid-plan setup terms vary |
| AI review responses | Automatically publishes replies to new Google reviews after a randomized 2–8-hour delay | Review Response Agent can auto-post or hold for approval; plan availability is not stated | AI review responses are listed; automated responses are shown as an add-on, with plan availability unclear | Pro includes AI Replies, with automatic posting, review filters, and approval options | Not publicly confirmed as an automated Google review-reply feature |
| QR codes and shareable review links | Yes | Review Generation Agent; QR availability is not stated on the pages checked | Textable review invites; QR availability is not stated on the pages checked | SMS/email invitations, reminders, and links | Survey and testimonial collection links; not a Google-reply workflow |
| Multi-location | Multiple locations in one dashboard; each location uses the published monthly or annual plan | Multi-location support is promoted; ask for a quote and current limits | Location limits are not stated on the public pricing page | Multi-location support is available; current limits depend on plan | Pricing is plan-based, not presented per location |
| Platforms covered | Google Business Profile reviews | Broad review-site, listings, social, and messaging coverage | Google reviews plus messaging and other business workflows | Google and other review sources, plus social proof | Imports public reviews and supports first-party testimonials |
| Website testimonial widgets | Not offered | Available | Not confirmed on the pricing page | Available | A central product feature |
| Best suited for | Local businesses prioritizing a focused Google review workflow, customer-chosen QR/link sharing, and automatic replies | Businesses that need a broad, sales-led reputation and customer-experience platform | Teams that want review management alongside lead conversion, messaging, and payments | Businesses that want review requests, referrals, social proof, and field-service integrations | Teams focused on customer feedback, surveys, and website testimonials |
Pricing and feature details were checked against the linked official sources on October 9, 2026. Prices and included features can change; confirm the current terms with each vendor before purchase.
What review signals can—and cannot—do for visibility
Google says review count and positive ratings can help local ranking. It also says helpful replies can help a business stand out, but does not say reply quality directly raises rank. Rateo is one option for a business prioritizing customer-chosen review sharing and automatic replies on Google; no review tool can guarantee a search position or AI recommendation. ChatGPT Search uses public sources beyond Google reviews and does not guarantee placement. Sources: Google local ranking guidance, Google guidance on review replies, ChatGPT Search, and OpenAI search crawler guidance.
What Rateo costs, in context
Rateo costs $129 per year per location, or $12 per month per location on monthly billing. Its 14-day trial is for the first eligible location. Podium currently lists Core at $399/month and Pro at $599/month. NiceJob lists Reviews at $75/month and Pro at $125/month; its monthly plans have no contract. Trustmary lists a free Solo plan and AI Visibility at $229/month or $191/month with annual billing; Trustmary pricing is not per location. Birdeye and ReviewTrackers do not publish a standard price on the official pricing pages checked. GatherUp advertises $99 for one location and $60 per location for multi-location plans; its pricing page also advertises 20% savings with annual billing, but the static page does not expose a complete annual total for each tier. Broadly lists several packages: a $799/month AI Workforce offer, alongside $399/month Standard and $999/month Premium offers; package scope and setup differ. See each linked vendor page for current terms.
Birdeye
What it is
Birdeye is a broad reputation and customer-experience platform for businesses that want reviews alongside listings, social, messaging, and website tools. Its Review Response Agent can publish a response automatically or hold it for approval. Birdeye's pricing page does not publish a standard price list or make the agent's plan availability clear.
Strengths
- Broad review-site coverage, listings, social, messaging, and multi-location workflows.
- The Review Response Agent supports automatic posting or an approval step.
- Review management is part of a wider customer-experience platform.
Limitations
- Pricing is not published as a standard self-serve list; buyers must request a quote.
- The public product page does not specify which plans include the Review Response Agent or its current limits.
- Its broad platform may be more than a business needs if it only wants a focused Google review workflow.
Pricing note: Birdeye's official pricing page requests buyer details and does not publish a standard price list. We do not repeat third-party price estimates as confirmed prices.
Sources: Birdeye pricing and Birdeye Review Response Agent.
Podium
What it is
Podium combines review management with lead conversion, messaging, and payments. Its pricing page currently lists Core at $399/month and Pro at $599/month in USD. The page describes review management with AI responses in Core and adds AI Reputation Specialist in Pro; it separately lists automated AI review responses as an add-on, without making the included plan scope clear in the published table.
Strengths
- Review management sits alongside messaging, lead conversion, payments, and integrations.
- Core includes AI review responses; Pro adds AI Reputation Specialist.
- The official pricing page lists automated AI review responses as an add-on; confirm its plan availability and publishing controls with Podium.
Limitations
- The pricing page directs buyers to contact sales; trial and contract terms are not stated there.
- The pricing page lists a $500 per-location network optimization fee for the Phones add-on.
- Automated AI review responses are listed as an add-on; do not assume they are included with every paid plan.
The current official pricing page lists Core at $399/month and Pro at $599/month, with Signature custom-quoted. The page also lists a $500 per-location network optimization fee for the Phones add-on and notes that usage rates apply. These are the public figures checked October 9, 2026; confirm any add-on and usage charges for the selected plan.
Source: Podium pricing and plan details.
NiceJob
What it is
NiceJob combines review requests, social proof, referrals, and repeat-business tools. Its pricing page lists Reviews at $75/month and Pro at $125/month. AI Replies is a Pro feature; the official page describes automatic daily posting, rule-based filters, and an approval mode. NiceJob also documents integrations for field-service businesses, but that does not make the product unsuitable for other local businesses.
Strengths
- Reviews and Pro plans are published at $75/month and $125/month; NiceJob states that plans have no contracts.
- AI Replies on Pro can auto-post daily, apply rules to choose which reviews receive automatic replies, or use approval mode.
- Its review requests, social proof, referral tools, and field-service integrations serve a broader workflow than Google replies alone.
Limitations
- AI Replies are not listed on the $75/month Reviews plan; they are available on Pro.
- The public pricing page does not state exact annual prepayment totals or a per-location price.
- Businesses that only need Google review replies may not need its additional marketing and referral features.
Sources: NiceJob pricing and AI Replies feature details, checked October 9, 2026.
Trustmary
What it is
Trustmary focuses on customer feedback, surveys, imported public reviews, and website testimonials. Its pricing page lists a free Solo plan and AI Visibility at $229/month or $191/month when billed annually. These are plan prices, not per-location prices. The official pages checked do not confirm automated Google review replies as a product feature.
Strengths
- The Solo tier is free; AI Visibility is $229/month or $191/month billed annually.
- Website testimonial widgets are its core strength.
- Surveys and testimonial widgets support customer-feedback and first-party proof workflows.
Limitations
- Automated AI replies to Google reviews were not confirmed on the official pages checked.
- Its pricing is presented by plan rather than as a per-location Google review management price.
- Its platform focus is broader feedback and testimonials rather than a Google Business Profile reply workflow.
Source: Trustmary pricing and plan details, checked October 9, 2026. Monthly and annual billing prices differ.
Rateo
What it is
Rateo is a focused Google Business Profile tool for local businesses that want customer-chosen QR-code and shareable-link review collection, review insights, and AI replies to new Google reviews. Replies publish automatically after a randomized 2–8-hour delay; the standard workflow does not include per-reply pre-publication approval. Rateo's pricing page publishes monthly and annual prices per location.
Strengths
- Published pricing of $129/year or $12/month per location; the 14-day trial applies to the first eligible location.
- Multiple locations can be managed in one dashboard, with the published plan applied per location.
- AI replies to new Google reviews publish automatically after a randomized 2–8-hour delay; QR codes and shareable links are included.
Limitations
- Google Business Profile is the only review platform; there is no listings management across directories.
- SMS/email campaigns, social publishing, webchat, payments, and website testimonial widgets are not standard-plan features.
- Businesses that need an individual approval step before every reply should choose a workflow that offers it.
- There is no free tier, unlike Trustmary.
What Rateo does and does not do
The standard plan is focused on Google reviews; it does not include listings management, social publishing, webchat, payments, SMS/email review campaigns, or website testimonial widgets. A business can include its shareable link in emails it already sends, and custom campaigns can be discussed with Rateo on request.
Rateo connects to the business's Google Business Profile, provides a QR code and shareable link customers can choose to use, and automatically publishes AI replies to new Google reviews after a randomized 2–8-hour delay. See Rateo pricing for current plan terms.
What to look for regardless of which tool you pick
- Whether the same public review option is available to every customer, without rating-based filtering.
- Whether replies are AI-generated suggestions, automatically published responses, or both.
- Whether the selected plan supports filters, a human approval step, and a configurable delay.
- Whether you can export your data.
- Whether the publishing workflow and integrations are documented for the specific plan.
A compliance point most comparison articles skip
Some tools can be configured to show different review paths based on customer sentiment. This practice is often called review gating. Google's Maps user-generated content policy prohibits discouraging negative reviews and selectively soliciting positive ones. On April 16, 2026, Google reported blocking or removing more than 292 million policy-violating reviews; that announcement describes enforcement activity and does not say the review policy changed in April 2026.
Ask any vendor whether their default flow sends the request to every customer. Read the Google review policy compliance guide for the practical questions to ask.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest Google review management tool?
Rateo publishes $129/year or $12/month per location. Trustmary has a free Solo tier and lists AI Visibility at $229/month or $191/month billed annually; it is not priced per location. Birdeye and ReviewTrackers do not show standard prices on the official pricing pages checked. Compare the linked plan scopes and terms rather than assuming the lowest number covers the same workflow.
Can AI respond to Google reviews automatically?
Yes, but the publishing mode differs by product. Rateo automatically publishes AI replies to new Google reviews after a randomized 2–8-hour delay. Birdeye says its Review Response Agent can auto-post or hold for approval, but does not specify plan availability publicly. NiceJob Pro supports automatic posting, filters, and approval mode. GatherUp automatically replies to positive third-party reviews and offers AI suggestions for negative feedback. Podium lists AI review responses and a separate automated-response add-on, but the public table does not make plan availability clear. ReviewTrackers lists AI Review Response, but its public product page does not confirm whether replies auto-publish. Trustmary's pages checked do not confirm automated Google replies. See the official pages for Birdeye, NiceJob, GatherUp, Podium, ReviewTrackers, Trustmary, and Rateo.
Do these tools work for multiple locations?
Several platforms support multiple locations, but public plan limits differ or are not listed. Rateo manages multiple locations in one dashboard and prices each location on its published monthly or annual plan. Podium's public pricing page does not state a location cap; ask each vendor to confirm limits, included locations, and add-on costs for the exact plan.
Will using a review tool get my Google reviews removed?
A review tool does not by itself cause removals. Non-compliant collection practices can create problems: Google's policy prohibits discouraging negative reviews and selectively soliciting positive ones. Review the Google Maps user-generated content policy and ask how the vendor's default request flow treats every customer.
For more answers, visit the Rateo FAQ or compare plans on the Rateo pricing page.